Banana Pancakes

after Jack Johnson

Yoga class got cancelled
Rain clouds lurk above
I think I’ll stay inside 
Not doing what I had planned to
And make banana pancakes
I can ’cause I’m retired

I’ve got four brown bananas
Two dozen free range eggs
As good a time as any
For pulling out the griddle
Instead of what I planned to do
And make banana pancakes  
And watch the rain come down

The news is scary and chaotic
So I’ll turn off the screen
Play some peppy music
Sizzle up a treat
A new plan for the day with  
Making banana pancakes
To Jack Johnson’s  beat

I pour batter on the griddle
Get out the maple syrup
Heat up a plate, make coffee
Baby, it smells fine
In the middle of the week
Enjoying banana pancakes
Ain’t got no place to go

Inspired by Jack Johnson’s song, Banana Pancakes.

Graphic courtesy of once upon a chef

The Day Seventeen prompt is to write a poem that is inspired by a piece of music, and that shares its title with that piece of music.  I chose Banana Pancakes by Jack Johnson particularly because it is raining today and his song cheered me up. I not only used his title, but I tried to follow a similar rhythm of his song.


9 thoughts on “Banana Pancakes

Post a comment.