I Will Keep Broken Things

Not all that breaks can be fixed
Cookies, crayons and that rare crystal vase

Not all that breaks needs to be fixed
silence, rhythm and trains of thought

Some things that break can offer lessons
a broken trust, a broken heart

Some things that break are better when broken
a break in the clouds, a break in a fever
spring breaks, and coffee breaks and
breaking out in wild free laughter

Photo by Mrugesh Shah courtesy of Unsplash.

The Day Twenty-four prompt is to write a poem that begins with a line from another poem (not necessarily the first one), but then goes elsewhere with it. 

I chose the poem I Will Keep Broken Things by Alice Walker. I used a repeating line as my title and another line (both in italics) in the last line of this poem.


43 thoughts on “I Will Keep Broken Things

    1. It reminds me of Kintsugi, the Japanese practice/art of fixing broken pottery visibly, where the breakage lines are highlighted in gold or other precious metal. Sometimes we need to celebrate what’s broken? 🙂

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Perhaps it is the gold bespoke for poetry of broken urns of odic aura. 🙂
        Always inspired by your enlightened poetry, LuAnne, always enjoy companionable silence between the lines, grateful to you and yours for the gracious hospitality. 🙂

        Like

  1. Pingback: Day Twenty-Five

Post a comment.