More Than I Need

“Too much of anything is bad, but too much good whiskey is barely enough.”― Mark Twain

Sometimes I drink more than I need
letting myself drown in memories
that serve no purpose

Sometimes I linger longer than I need
between the staying still
and plunging forward without fear

Sometimes I write more than I need
filling up notebooks with revelations
profound to only me

Sometimes I laugh more than I need
or scream or dance or cry or dream

No,
more than I need
could just be the perfect amount
for this short life

 

cherriesIt’s cherry season here in Michigan so I want to try a recipe in patience called cherry bounce that I discovered through my good friend at incahootswithmuddyboots. Any recipe that includes bourbon reminds me of the Mark Twain quote above that I read every Christmas season in my mother’s cookbook as the first instruction for making bourbon balls. Thanks also to my friend Penny who read this poem with new eyes and gave me great editing advice.

10 thoughts on “More Than I Need

  1. Ah, a well-edited poem! Bless you and Penny; this is just beautiful. Cherries keep coming back to me this year, as I published a poem in which the last line was ‘These cherries taste sweeter when I talk to God.’ And then during labor with my second daughter, I sucked the juice out of the first cherries of the season and remembered that poem, which profoundly helped me into this new chapter of life.
    Bourbon balls, sounds intriguing…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. What a lovely connection to cherries. I have a similar one with my second child with blueberries. 🙂 I’d like to read your poem. Please post a link although I am about to go on a 4 day road trip sans internet with that same daughter. But I will catch up next week.

      Like

Post a comment.

