Attention Is Love

for Yvette

A watercolor painting of a red-headed woman
smiles at me in my kitchen each morning.
My French friend sent it to cheer me up
at just the right time when I needed her presence.

She is my friend who writes beautiful pieces
about music and dance and history and family.
Though written in English, somehow I sense
that she feels these stories in French.

She reads her works slowly, as words and silence
dance a slow dance where emotion can breathe.
With uncanny attention to word harmony
we hear her unique bilingual perspective.

She paints vintage portraits of expressive women,
speaks with theatrical expression.
She is whole, she is kind, she is boldly soft-spoken.
She loves through offering attention.


My friend, Yvette, died in March and I miss her so.


The above image is one of Yvette’s watercolor paintings
that she sent to me; I keep it displayed on my fridge.


19 thoughts on “Attention Is Love

  1. Thank you, LuAnne, for your beautiful and moving tribute to your friend, Yvette! Among many people we meet, it is difficult to find truly loyal friend! The Roman sage wrote: “Without friendship life is meaningless.”

    I am sorry, LuAnne, for your loss.

    Joanna

    Liked by 1 person

      1. As one who was and is indeed blessed by the spirit of an absent friend, I am grateful for the artistic way Attention Is Love reminds me of their presence in my here and now. For myself, paying attention to their light started me writing The Companionable Silence of My Absent Friend. But hearing my voice saying the title in my head, I shut up to pay attention. Thanks, LuAnne. Vive Yvette!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a lively and vibrant painting that your friend Yvette created. Your tribute to her is full of love and warmth, LuAnne, and I hope that all the love and joy she gave while here will comfort you in her sad and difficult absence. I’m sorry. It’s really hard to lose our vibrant loved ones.

    Liked by 1 person

Post a comment.