The Alchemy of Art

In writing a poem
I am the absence of the poem
When I write words
more words fill in the spaces
between those written words
This is one reason why I write
to see where I am not any more
so that new words,
new combinations of sounds
can reveal themselves
to a metamorphosing me

In drafting a painting
I am the absence of the painting
When I paint images
more images fill in the spaces
between those painted perspectives
This is one reason why I paint
to see where I am not any more
so that new images,
new combinations of colors
can reveal themselves
to a metamorphosing me

This poem was inspired by a Mark Strand poem called Keeping Things Whole that I recently read from a post on Impromptu Promptlings. I encourage you to visit this delightful site. On Fridays, she often features a poet with background information and a poem or two. On other days she sparks interesting conversations among WordPress bloggers.

Below is an original watercolor painting of mine and a haiku to go with it.

Firefly

Ephemeral lights
against a dark summer sky
dancing meadow joy

Compliment this post with one of my previous posts on the process of creating art called Divergence.

 

Pluck
10 thoughts on “The Alchemy of Art

  1. Lots of truths here. The absence of ego makes the best art. We probably spend our whole lives attempting to reclaim the gifts of childhood one way or another.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Lady C. That Mark Strand poem you posted really blew me away. I took it to my writers group this week and shared it with the others. We take a poem each month and work with it, read it every day, read it aloud in group. Keeping Things Whole is my poem for this month. The more I read it, the more it inspired me to use it as a basis for describing my own writing and painting process. Thank you so much for introducing me to Mark Strand, and his wonderfully mysterious poem. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Post a comment.

