Eternal Breath

frosty-breath

I lift my face
to face the breeze
this same air
connecting me with all life
now
and ever before
and even life that will come to be
for that matter

A rhythmic gift
of giving and taking
as the breeze sings through my hair
or lifts the butterfly wings

All of this is eternal
because eternity doesn’t have to do with time

Eternity has to do with now and now is everything.  Wendell Berry

A special thanks goes out to my dear friends, Penny and Karen, for helping me edit this poem. We met together for coffee and writing yesterday. It was an inspirational time spent with other poets that I very much needed.

Image by Loren Kerns
 Infinite
One thought on “Eternal Breath

Post a comment.

