Letting Failure Rest

sleeping child

I can learn much from grass.
It offers me sweet softness,
regardless of the burdens that I carry.
Today I wandered in a field of summer green
accompanied by Failure, my cheeky child.
She tired and curled up within herself,
and slept, as children need to do.

I headed out to hike toward
far fields of possibility
glad she couldn't tag along
threatening me with memories of
   all duties I have dodged
        all choices made that hurt loved ones
            all goals left unattained

But she awoke.

“You cannot leave me," she demanded
sitting up, arms akimbo,
"I insist on coming with you.”
So I returned and smoothed her hair,
eased her back into recline.
She soon dozed off again,
as children need to do.

I left her sleeping there and
began my exploration
in vast meadows beyond wrongdoing
where Failure cannot venture.

Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing
There is a field.
I’ll meet you there.
When the soul lies down in that grass,
The world is too full to talk about.
Rumi

Photo from What’s on Your Bucket List? 101 Things To Do Before You Die
15 thoughts on “Letting Failure Rest

    1. Thank you. I have to say this one took a lot of pondering and revision. I actually wrote the original two years ago as a prose piece and then this week tried to convert it to poetry. It took me all week and I still wasn’t that happy with it. It is one that will be revisited. But I am glad it spoke to you. This is one of my favorite Rumi poems. It started me on a journey of grace – forgiving myself of all my lackings so that I can move forward with kindness. I read this one at a turning point in my life and well, I just want to come back to that field and lie down beyond words to refresh my soul often. I so enjoy these conversations with you, Lady C.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. As do I, I’m not good at poetry for the most part, but I’m watching and learning from a few people who have a gift for it. The way you interpret a poem you like then go about rewriting to make it your own intrigues me AND teaches me. We just never know what folks are going to learn from us, do we? 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Post a comment.

