Will of My Will

islands

I am lost in the expanse of the will of my will.
On one extreme I give in, you smile,
you get your way.
But in abdicating, I steal our chance
to  negotiate connection.
We become islands when I lose my will.

On the other extreme, I demand my intent.
You give in and walk away.
But in my insistence, I steal our chance
to  negotiate connection.
We become islands when I demand my will.

Let us navigate the waters of compromise
for a passage connecting these islands of will
both of our hands on the same rigging
where heart to heart,
dignity to dignity
compassion steers our passions.

 

Sandbox Writing Challenge – Lost

6 thoughts on “Will of My Will

Post a comment.

