Embraced

She bought an old homeghost2
filled with the ghosts of the Drakes
their homestead for 200 years.

Peeling off layers of weathered old wallpaper
all day
left her weary by nightfall.
Instead of driving back into town
she took respite on an old mattress upstairs.

She dozed off wary
with concerns that she might have angered the Drakes
with her changes to their house.

But in peace she slept soundly
embraced by their spirits of love
for the care she extended
to the walls of their history.

She awoke knowing she was home.

 

Closet

4 thoughts on “Embraced

  1. “to the walls of their history.” I love that line. It encapsulates so much in so few words. Great story-poem, it got me wondering if former tenants who owned my flat “embraced [me] with spirits of love” when I painted the walls a soothing teal. I hope so! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Glad you liked the story, Melinda. When the woman told me this story, she did so with love and animation. It truly delighted my heart. (I hope I got the “facts” right!) She has become quite the historian of the Drake family.

      Liked by 1 person

Post a comment.

