Little Light Dream Scene

We are such stuff, as dreams are made on,
And our little life is rounded with a sleep. ~William Shakespeare,  The Tempest

 

My Little Light Dream SceneParasols in Wind

dreamless sleep is interrupted
by parchment paper parasols
not static, standing still in ink
but rather tiny silhouettes
tumbling across my vision

 

Emerson says* that our natural character is judged by what we do in our dreams. In the dream that inspired this poem, I was an observer, and what I experienced was a simple, joyous scene. If this short vision represents my true self, even for the moment, then I rejoice that my nature today is dancing lightly through life.

Dreams are more real than reality itself, they’re closer to the self. ~ Gao Xingjian

* The Emerson quote (from his Journals March 23, 1833) is “Judge of your natural character by what you do in your dreams. If you yield to temptation there, I am afraid you will, awake.”  http://www.perfectidius.com/Volume_3_1833-1835.pdf

2 thoughts on “Little Light Dream Scene

Post a comment.

