2-2 Haiku

 

Ground Hog Day

Ground Hog Day again!
Go forth bereft of hope or
bask in winter’s hearths?

 

OK, I admit it. I watch Bill Murray’s Ground Hog Day every February 2. Its classic theme of appreciating the now resonates with me. This haiku was inspired by one of the scenes in the movie where Phil begins to see life for the blessings of the moment.

Here are some more of my favorite lines from the movie:

What if there is no tomorrow? There wasn’t one today.

“Do you ever have déjà vu, Mrs. Lancaster?” “I don’t think so, but I could check with the kitchen.”

Okay, campers, rise and shine, and don’t forget your booties ’cause it’s cooooold out there today.

“I’m a god.” “You’re God?” “I’m ‘a’ god. I’m not ‘the’ God…”

Today is tomorrow. It happened.

The report this morning (2-2-2016) from Punxsutawney was proclaimed as “There is no shadow to be cast! An early spring is my forecast!” You can read the details at Punxsutawney Phil Did Not See His Shadow on NPR.

5 thoughts on “2-2 Haiku

Post a comment.

