Meditation Song

meditating

I sit down this morning to meditate
then my thoughts get all lost
and I’m singing this song in my head
forgetting about the instructions  they  told me
of how to be present here just where I am.

If I jump off the track of this focus on being
I’ll get lost in my thoughts instead of my breathing.
So I sit by the hourglass flowing one way
There’s no rewind button or fast forward here
Just sitting to notice the feelings
And breathe.
Just breathe.

This song keeps on peeking inside of my head
but I know it is something not mine
but what someone else said.
I relate to it but it is only a thought.
So I focus again on my breath.
I see colors form under my lids, I feel feelings I feel
in my feet and my arms and my legs.
I am here now with only this moment
’cause that’s where I am.

If I jump off the track of this focus on being
I’ll get lost in my thoughts instead of my breathing.
I sit by the hourglass flowing one way
There’s no rewind button or fast forward here
Just sitting to notice the feelings
And breathe.
Just breathe.

 

I seem to find inspiration in many places and this morning it appeared in a meditation session through a song I’ve been listening to lately, Breathe, by Anna Nalick. Please listen to her song. You will see her strong influence on the wording and rhythm of this poem.

 

 

In the Daily Prompt for Sing.

6 thoughts on “Meditation Song

Post a comment.

