The Time Is Now

CLOCK

 

The Time Is Now

What if you had a clock that always showed you the time
precisely
like when to stop and take a breath,
or when your face could use a smile,
or when to notice the colors of clouds,
or the aroma of fresh baked challah.

 What if this clock could always tell you
exactly
when it’s time to stop for some tea,
or stretch your legs with a walk in the park,
or sing while folding warm towels from the dryer,
or give your aging aunt a call.

I think that the hands of such a clock  would be
your hands
that can hold the experience of just one moment.
Its face would have no numbers
to mark off the pace of your movements.

I believe such a clock would show you the truth
that the best times are times
when time doesn’t exist
because you can only live in the now.

 

I have pondered the existence of time for years. While it seems to be ever-present, I can see that it is an invention that humans have created. This morning I read an article that articulates many of my thoughts on time. I thank David Cain at Raptitude for the inspiration he provided me in his essay, Time Is Something We Do, Not Something We See.

13 thoughts on “The Time Is Now

  1. We think about so many of the same things, Annie! I have long been aware that my moments of pure contentment are those when I’m living in the now – when nothing else is lacking and my mind is simply present. I read the article that inspired you and smiled at the part about cats not pondering time. I wrote a poem about Rocket last January which is along the same vein. I thought I’d share it with you:

    I love the way Rocket sits like a sentinel above me on the gold chair,
    Regal and attentive.
    I stare into his big globe eyes and wonder at the thoughts of a cat.
    He turns his back to my probing eyes and I feel bereft of his purposeful attention.

    There are so many distractions in this world.
    One can sit down to attempt meditation and get lost in the mind.
    So many things to do, so much to dissect, to grieve, to hope for.

    I long for the simplicity of a cat
    Who sits quietly with ease and does not question his purpose, but fulfills it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I find myself day to day trying to take in all the small things that make up everyday, which can be hard when you work in New York City, surrounded by more distractions than you know what to do with. I have found that meditating has made that easier and I hope we all learn to see that clock a few times a day.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I love this! Managing time is something I have learned to do quite well over the years. I always make time to walk in the park, call a favorite friend, have tea, smell the roses and enjoy the moment!
    Wonderful reminder for all of us, especially this time of year when things can get rather crazy and frantic!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love the poem, and also get fascinated with topics like these. I remember an author’s quote, but cannot remember the name, that (paraphrased from long ago memory) “the present affords the only opportunity to build and create the past. “, or something to that effect. Love the idea that the best times are timeless. Nice.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for sharing that quote. It reminds me of a line from the movie, Her, where the main character says, “The past is a story we tell ourselves.” I can get lost in this topic on so many levels. Thanks for stopping by.

      Like

Post a comment.

