Cutting From Black

Movie director

This morning I read an inspiring post, Your Life Is Always Just Beginning, on Raptitude by David Cain. This concept that each of us is always in the middle of a universe, physically, socially and spiritually, has been a prominent theme in my life lately. Because Cain uses film techniques metaphorically to express this idea, I decided to take his work and do a blackout poem in the Austin Kleon tradition. This poetic format seemed appropriate for the message. I encourage you to read the original essay that was used as the basis of this poem and explore Cain’s site at Raptitude.com: Getting better at being human.

Cutting From Black Title

Cutting From Black

16 thoughts on “Cutting From Black

  1. Thanks, try it out sometimes. Even if I don’t use a complete original piece and black out parts like this one, I often highlight key words that jump out at me when I read a piece I enjoy and use them for inspiration. Thanks for following!

    Like

  2. Absolutely beautiful. It looks like you had a rich basis text but your choice of words and phrases is excellent – as if you wrote the poem from scratch yourself. Though I’ve been thinking – in some ways all of our poems our “found.” Whatever the case, very nicely done.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, Nicole. The article is wonderful and I encourage you to read it. I agree that all poems are in a sense “found poems” in that we get our inspiration from others whose works we enjoy. I guess some are more “found” than others.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. ‘Cutting to Black’ is a great piece. Blackout Poetry has become my addiction. I find it quite soothing to work on a poem. I experiment with shorter pieces with 5 to 7 line poems or longer as yours is. It opens your mind to see what is there but not seen before. I use pdf or something similar so as not to have to destroy a page from a book. The art some of the blackout poets are doing would amaze you. Paintings with lines of poetry mixed in. Absolutely beautiful. I would say you have figured out the searching part. I would just keep looking for other pages to work on. It doesn’t have to be literature. An article from a magazine can work. Just follow your urges. Let me know if and when you do another blackout poem. Thank you for sharing this one.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for your response. I had never thought of incorporating art in a black out poem. I am only familiar with the blackout poetry of Austin Kleon. I would love to see the works of others if you have any links. I have read your collection – inspiring! I am so glad I have stumbled upon your sight.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I am glad you did, also. I am trying to tell you the best places to go. Have you heard of Tumblr? If you create a blog on it, you don’t have to do any blogging unless you want to. Where I am going with this is, you get on Tumblr and write in the search box for Blackout Poems, it will give you a lengthy assortment of posts of poems. Or join Pinterest and do the same thing. If you belong to any of these two sights let me know. I will send you my link to both. The other place to get a great look at a good assortment is Google Image. Just write in Blackout Poems. Pages and pages of poems will appear. I am just finding my way but these are the best of Blackout Poetry I have found. From their I collect it. My Pinterest collection is growing. I have about 30 to 40 or maybe more Poems. Not sure. Have been working on my own. I plan on working on something this week. Certain classics are great to pull pages from. No problem with copyright. Have fun. Let me know what you find. – jk (jennifer)

        Liked by 1 person

Post a comment.

